Portsmouth Ohio

Where Southern Hospitality Begins

City Council


Front Row L-R: Thomas Lowe, Gene Meadows, Jo Ann Aeh, Sean Dunne, Jerrold Albrecht

Back Row L-R: M. Trent Williams (City Auditor), John Haas (City Solicitor), Kevin E. Johnson (Acting Mayor), Sam Sutherland (City Manager), Diana Ratliff (City Clerk)


Diana Ratliff, City Clerk
[email protected]

728 Second St.
Portsmouth, OH  45662

Ph: (740) 354-4706

8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday - Friday

Except as otherwise provided in the City's Charter, all legislative powers of the City are vested in a Council consisting of one member nominated and elected to a four-year term from each of the six wards. 

Each member of Council elected or appointed from a ward must have resided in that ward no less than six months and must have been a resident of the City for at least three years immediately preceding his election.

Agendas, Minutes, and Audio Files

Previous years will be made available soon or can be made available on request.